The Canadiens are vying for their first Clarence S. Campbell Bowl


The Montreal Canadiens have a chance to do something else the Maple Leafs haven’t been able to do — win the Clarence S. Campbell Bowl.

The NHL announced the winner of the Vegas-Montreal series will be presented with the Campbell Bowl, while the winner of the other semifinal — either Tampa Bay or the New York Islanders — will take the Prince of Wales Trophy.

The Islanders-Lightning series will begin Sunday in Tampa. The Canadiens-Golden Knights series starts the next night in Las Vegas, with the two series alternating evenings. The Knights were the last team to advance to the final four, eliminating Colorado on Thursday night.

The two trophies have been geographically based since the first expansion in 1967, when they were given to divisional regular-season champions. The switch to conference playoff champions came in 1974-75.

The Leafs never won the Campbell in their 17 years in the Western or Campbell Conference. They reached the conference final twice, losing in 1993 to Los Angeles and in 1994 to Vancouver.

The Canadiens have never competed for the Campbell but, with Vegas being the only Western team among the final four, it makes sense that’s the trophy the Golden Knights would compete for.

The Canadiens last won the Prince of Wales in 1992-93.

Here’s one trophy the Montreal Canadiens have never won — the Clarence S. Campbell Bowl.


Conversations are opinions of our readers and are subject to the Code of Conduct. The Star does not endorse these opinions.

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Blue Jackets’ coach Larsen says he’ll handle things ‘differently’ than Torts
Today in Hockey History: June 6
NWHL’s Toronto Six name Mark Joslin as second head coach in franchise history
Nelson pots a pair as Islanders dump Bruins to set stage for Cup semifinal against Bolts
Worst Trades in Kings History

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *